Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘Awards and Recognition’

Nominations for AAC&U Cross Future Leaders Award due Oct. 3rd

Call for Nominations | 
The K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award
Deadline for receipt of materials: October 3, 2016

The K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award recognizes graduate students who show exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education; who demonstrate a commitment to developing academic and civic responsibility in themselves and others; and whose work reflects a strong emphasis on teaching and learning.

The award honors the work of K. Patricia Cross, Professor Emerita of Higher Education at the University of California, Berkeley.

Please go to the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders page for complete information.

All doctoral level graduate students who are planning a career in higher education are eligible, regardless of academic department. Graduate students in fields where the Master’s degree is the terminal degree, such as the MFA in art, are also eligible. (Nominees must hold student status in January 2017.)

Applicants must demonstrate:

1. Leadership ability or potential for exercising leadership in teaching and learning,
with a strong commitment to academic and civic responsibility; and
2. Leadership or potential leadership in the development of others as leaders,
scholars, and citizens.

Nomination Process
A faculty member or administrator must nominate the student, with a supporting letter from a second faculty member or administrator. The following materials must be submitted for an application to be considered:

  1. a nomination letter from a faculty member or administrator;
    2. a supporting letter from a second faculty member or administrator;
    3. a statement from the student indicating how he or she meets the award criteria;
    4. a copy of the student’s curriculum vitae.

Nominations can be submitted anytime, but no later than October 3, 2016. Nominees must also complete an online form with all contact information. Only complete nominations will be considered.

The Award
The K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award provides financial support for graduate students to attend AAC&U’s 2017 Annual Meeting, which will be held in San Francisco, California, January 25–28, 2017. All award recipients are required to attend the conference.

The award includes travel, lodging, conference registration, and a one-year affiliation with AAC&U, including subscriptions to all AAC&U periodicals.

The awards will be announced in December 2016, and recognized at AAC&U’s Annual Meeting in January.

2016 ADP Civic Engagement Award Recipients Announced

The American Democracy Project recently honored four outstanding leaders in civic engagement during the 2016 ADP/TDC/NASPA Civic Learning and Democratic Engagement Meeting (CLDE) in Indianapolis, Ind.

Read more

2016 IARSLCE Awards: Call for Nominations

iarslceThe purpose of these recognitions is to encourage, catalyze, support, share, and leverage high quality research. “IARSLCE Recognition of Exemplary Contribution through Research on Service-Learning and Community Engagement” is categorized into 3 types: Dissertation, Early Career, and Distinguished Career. Recognitions also include ten (10) graduate student scholarships.

Nominations for 2016 recognitions and applications for graduate student scholarships are due by May 24, 2016 and should be submitted electronically to; self-nominations are welcome. All nominees and scholarship applicants will be notified of their status in July. All nominees and recipients for the four categories of recognitions will be invited to share about their work at the annual conference (September 26-28, 2016, in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA). For details about the conference, please visit

The Distinguished Career Recognition acknowledges and celebrates intellectual leadership through a body of work that has broad and deep impact on service-learning and community engagement-including the study of it, the practice of it, and the cultures and systems within which it is undertaken.

The Early Career Recognition acknowledges and celebrates intellectual leadership through an emerging body of work that has begun to demonstrate broad and deep impact on service-learning and community engagement – including the study of it, the practice of it, and the cultures and/or systems within which it is undertaken.

The Dissertation Recognition acknowledges and celebrates a dissertation that advances research on service-learning and community engagement through rigorous and innovative inquiry and has the potential for impact – including on the study of it, the practice of it, and/or the cultures and systems within which it is undertaken.

Ten $500 Graduate Student Scholarships are provided by the Association to support graduate student participation in the 2016 IARSLCE Conference in New Orleans, LA. Scholarship recipients fall into two categories: (a) early graduate students and (b) advanced graduate students. A total of ten scholarships will be awarded across the two categories. Within each category, at least one scholarship will be awarded to an international graduate student based outside the US.

TWC Higher Education Civic Engagement Award – Call for nominations

TWC_SIG_KOThe Washington Center for Internships and Academic Seminars, an independent nonprofit educational organization, invites nominations for the 2016 Higher Education Civic Engagement Award.  The award recognizes institutions that are achieving breadth and depth of civic engagement through mutually transformational partnerships that address issues of public concern at any level from the local to the global.

In reviewing nominations, The Washington Center and the selection committee will consider the extent to which institutions are building strategic community partnerships that demonstrate the following:

  1. Leadership and innovation in defining and addressing issues of public concern;
  2. Vision for change that is systemic and sustainable;
  3. Depth and breadth of institutional commitment.

The Washington Center has presented the Higher Education Civic Engagement Awards each year since 2009.  Past awardees have reflected diverse institutional profiles.

Learn more about past recipients and how to nominate an institution here.  The deadline for nominations is Friday, May 27th.

Five winners will receive one full scholarship for a student to participate in The Washington Center’s Inside Washington 2017: The Presidential Inauguration Academic Seminar in January 2017.

%d bloggers like this: