Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘award’

REMINDER: Nominations Due 4/13/15 for ADP Civic Engagement Awards

Nominations for ADP’s three national civic engagement awards are due Monday, April 13, 2015. 

Plater Award for Leadership in Civic Engagement
William M. Plater Award for Leadership in Civic Engagement is given each year to an AASCU chief academic officer in recognition of his or her leadership in advancing the civic mission of the campus. Chief academic officers may be nominated by anyone on the campus. The president or chancellor must endorse the nomination. Nominations materials for the 2015 Plater Award must be submitted electronically by April 13, 2015.

Saltmarsh Award for Emerging Leaders in Civic Engagement
The John Saltmarsh Award for Emerging Leaders in Civic Engagement is presented annually to an emerging leader in the civic engagement field from an AASCU institution or ADP Partner organization. Emerging Leaders may be nominated by anyone. Nomination materials for the 2015 Saltmarsh Award must be submitted electronically by April 13, 2015. 

Burch Award for Faculty Leadership in Civic Engagement
The Barbara Burch Award for Faculty Leadership in Civic Engagement is presented annually to a senior faculty member in the civic engagement field from an AASCU institution. Senior ADP Faculty members may be nominated by anyone. The provost or chief academic officer must endorse the nomination. Nomination materials for the 2015 Burch Award must be submitted electronically by April 13, 2015.

ADP/TDC Honor Leaders with Awards for Civic Engagement at 2014 National Meeting

AASCU’s American Democracy Project (ADP) and its sister organization The Democracy Commitment honored a team of students and three outstanding leaders in civic engagement earlier this month during their joint national meeting in Louisville, Ky.

2014 ADP/TDC Award Recipients

2014 ADP/TDC Award Recipients

Three ADP awards were presented: The John Saltmarsh Award for Emerging Leaders in Civic Engagement; The William M. Plater Award for Leadership in Civic Engagement; and the inaugural Barbara Burch Award for Faculty Leadership in Civic Engagement. The Democracy Commitment also awarded it’s inaugural award — an award for a team of students.

TDC’s inaugural award, The Democracy Commitment Student Action Award, is given to recognize a student-initiated or -directed project or program that exemplifies the democratic skills and capacities of community college students. The first annual The Democracy Commitment Student Action Award was presented to three students from De Anza College (Calif.). Karla Navarro, Cecelia Ng, and Ashley Schneider were nominated by Cynthia Kaufman for their initiation of and work on the 350 De Anza Divestment Project. These students decided that they wanted Foothill De Anza Community College district to divest from fossil fuels. They conducted research, consulted with faculty mentors, and got unanimous resolutions from the student bodies at both campuses in the district. They then took that to the foundation board and worked with the members to pass a unanimous resolution for full divestment. There are active divestment campaigns on a few hundred campuses nationally, but many of them have stalled out. De Anza was only the eight campus to divest, and was the second state institution and the first community college. The movement really needed a victory at that point, and has since picked up steam, with Stanford’s divestment at the end of spring semester.

This year’s recipient of the John Saltmarsh Award for Emerging Leaders in Civic Engagement, Bethany Fleck, is an assistant professor at Metropolitan State University of Denver (Colo). In addition to teaching courses in human development and psychology, Fleck pioneered two service-learning courses within the psychology department and is at the forefront of the movement to institutionalize service-learning at MSU Denver. The award was created in honor of John Saltmarsh, co-director of the New England Resource Center for Higher Education at the University of Massachusetts Boston, as a tribute to his dedication to nurturing the next generation of civic leaders.

Harold Hellenbrand, this year’s recipient of the William M. Plater Award for Leadership in Civic Engagement, has exemplified the values of this award through his work as provost and vice president of academic affairs at California State University, Northridge. Hellenbrand’s background reflects strengths in planning, K-12 linkages, retention efforts, and a strong commitment to diversity; he has nearly 30 years of experience within the California State University system. The award is named after William M. Plater, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis’ (IUPUI) chief academic officer from 1987 through 2006. During his term at IUPUI, Plater oversaw the development of civic engagement as an integral part of the campus mission and as a defining characteristic of its graduates.

The Barbara Burch Award for Faculty Leadership in Civic Engagement was created this year to honor exemplary faculty leadership in advancing the civic learning and engagement of undergraduate students and advancing the work of AASCU’s American Democracy Project. The inaugural recipient of this award, Gregg Kaufman, is an instructor in the College of Arts and Sciences at Georgia College, where he also coordinates the campus’ American Democracy Project; he also serves on the national ADP implementation committee. The award’s namesake provided extraordinary national leadership in the design, creation and ongoing development of the American Democracy Project.

“We’re so pleased to honor these outstanding individuals who represent the incredible work of civic learning and engagement taking place on our campuses every day,” says George Mehaffy, AASCU’s vice president for academic leadership and change. “The work of the people we recognized in Louisville, and the countless campus faculty members and administrators who also work to prepare the next generation of informed, engaged citizens, will strengthen our country and contribute to a brighter future for us all.”

TWC Higher Education Civic Engagement Award


The Washington Center for Internships and Academic Seminars, an independent nonprofit educational organization, invites nominations for the 2014 New York Life Higher Education Civic Engagement Award. The award recognizes institutions that are achieving breadth and depth of civic engagement through mutually transformational partnerships that address issues of public concern at any level from the local to the global.

In reviewing nominations, The Washington Center and the selection committee will consider the extent to which institutions are building strategic partnerships that demonstrate the following:

1. Leadership and innovation in defining and addressing issues of public concern;
2. Vision for change that is systemic and sustainable;
3. Depth and breadth of institutional commitment.

The Washington Center has presented the Higher Education Civic Engagement Awards each year since 2009. Past awardees have reflected a broad diversity of institutional profiles.

Learn more about past recipients and how to nominate an institution at Nominations are due Friday, May 23, 2014.

The 2014 New York Life Higher Education Civic Engagement Awards are sponsored by the New York Life Foundation. Five winners will receive $20,000 in scholarship funding to help their students participate in The Washington Center’s Academic Internship Program in the nation’s capital during the following year.

AASCU’s American Democracy Project offers a sincere thank you to The Washington Center for its support of our civic learning and engagement work and sponsorship of our upcoming 2014 ADP/TDC National Meeting in Louisville from June 5-7.

%d bloggers like this: