Partner Spotlight: CIRCLE’s Call for Guest Blog Posts on Impact Measures


Call for Guest Posts: Impact Measures

CIRCLE is seeking proposals for guest posts to their website,, on the topic of impact measures. They especially welcome writing on measures that can be adapted by other researchers and practitioners or discussions of how measures have been adapted. They welcome all types of measures of civic learning and engagement, but would be especially excited to feature posts about innovative or novel ideas for measuring impact and measures appropriate for diverse contexts and by diverse people.

This call is part of a new guest post initiative, beginning this summer and fall. CIRCLE will organize 6-month series of guest posts on topics that are timely and significant to youth engagement fields. They will promote discussion on each post, compile them into a “series proceedings,” and host online conversations.

For more information and instructions on submitting a proposal, click here.

Stay connected to CIRCLE on Facebook and Twitter to learn more. Sign up here for CIRCLE’s monthly e-update.

FREE PUBLICATION | AAC&U’s Civic Prompts—Making Civic Learning Routine across the Disciplines

By Rebecca Keller, AASCU Civic Engagement Intern and Indiana University of Pennsylvania


AASCU’s sister organization AAC&U has produced a free publication entitled Civic Prompts: Making Civic Learning Routine across the Disciplines. This report suggests a need to 1) change the definition/current conception of civic learning, 2) more clearly articulate precisely what a “civic minded” institution is, and 3) ensure that all educators are capable of engaging their field of study through a civic lens. The report also advocates engaging students in the “big question” of civic learning; preparing students to not only have knowledge of civic engagement but to also actually take action; and highlighting personal and social responsibilities in every discipline.

Download your free copy of Civic Prompts here (pdf).

Call for Nominations | AACU’s K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award

Call for Nominations | The K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award

Deadline for receipt of materials: October 1, 2015

The K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award recognizes graduate students who show exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education; who demonstrate a commitment to developing academic and civic responsibility in themselves and others; and whose work reflects a strong emphasis on teaching and learning.

The award honors the work of K. Patricia Cross, Professor Emerita of Higher Education at the University of California, Berkeley.

Please go to the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders page for complete information.

All doctoral level graduate students who are planning a career in higher education are eligible, regardless of academic department. Graduate students in fields where the Master’s degree is the terminal degree, such as the MFA in art, are also eligible. (Nominees must hold student status in January 2016.)

Applicants must demonstrate:

  1. Leadership ability or potential for exercising leadership in teaching and learning,
    with a strong commitment to academic and civic responsibility; and
    2. Leadership or potential leadership in the development of others as leaders,
    scholars, and citizens.

Nomination Process
A faculty member or administrator must nominate the student, with a supporting letter from a second faculty member or administrator. The following materials must be submitted for an application to be considered:

  1. a nomination letter from a faculty member or administrator;
    2. a supporting letter from a second faculty member or administrator;
    3. a statement from the student indicating how he or she meets the award criteria;
    4. a copy of the student’s curriculum vitae.

Nominations can be submitted anytime, but no later than October 1, 2015. Nominees must also complete an online form with all contact information. Only complete nominations will be considered.

The Award
The K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award provides financial support for graduate students to attend AAC&U’s 2016 Annual Meeting, which will be held in Washington, DC, January 20-23, 2016. All award recipients are required to attend the conference.

The award includes travel, lodging, conference registration, and a one-year affiliation with AAC&U, including subscriptions to all AAC&U periodicals.

The awards will be announced in December 2015, and recognized at AAC&U’s Annual Meeting in January.

Contact Information
Please contact Suzanne Hyers at or 202.387.3760 with any questions.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the ADP blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 245 other followers




Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers